storytime

Storytime: Crayons

We’ve done storytimes about color, but I wanted to do one specifically on coloring and crayons. We had a really great time and got to read one of my favorites, Harold and the Purple Crayon. Here’s everything we read:

First, we read Snap! by Hazel Hutchins. This book had big and bold illustrations that really grabbed the kids attention. It’s a bit long for the age group, but it worked well for reading aloud. Next, we read Harold and the Purple Crayon by Crockett Johnson. In this children’s classic, we follow Harold on his adventures as he draws with his purple crayon. I love the minimalism of the illustrations in this book and the kiddos really enjoyed it too. Last, we read My Crayons Talk by Patricia Hubbard. This book is perfect for reading aloud. It has rhyming on every page and a fun chorus of “Yackity, clackity, my crayons talk.” All great reads about crayons.

For our craft, I used leftovers from a color theme that I really wanted to do. We made crayon chameleons. All you need is paper plates, crayons, and push tacks. I prepped the chameleon cut out and let the kiddos go crazy coloring.

Obviously, you could make any cut-out shape to fit your needs. I just already had several chameleons on reserve. This craft was great because the kids had fun just coloring.

See you next week!

Leave a Reply

