storytime

Storytime: Beach

No better time to go to the beach than mid July! Here’s what we read:

First, we read Beach Day by Karen Roosa. The illustrations were really lovely and bright, so I gave the kiddos plenty of time to look at each page. The book also had some fabulous rhyming that was perfect for reading aloud. Next, we read Fun in the Sun by David Catrow. These illustrations are hilarious! They might have been a little too detailed for a read aloud, however. There was just too much to see! Last, we read Penguin on Vacation by Salina Yoon. I love the simplicity of the illustrations and colors in this book. The little penguin has little exclamations he makes on the side, which is cute, but difficult for a read aloud. Still, its a great book about getting out of your comfort zone.

For our craft, we designed our own sunglasses. I found bulk sunglasses on Amazon for about $5. We used glittery foam stickers to cover our sunnies. The kids had a blast! I’ve found that anything involving glue or stickers is always going to be a hit with them. I definitely intend to wear mine on my upcoming beach trip!

Alas, this will be my last storytime for a while. I will be completing my final semester of grad school and will begin my student teaching in a couple of days. I am beyond excited to start this next chapter, but will deeply miss my time with the kiddos each week. I am hoping that I can pick it back up for future summers. Follow me on Goodreads to see what I’m currently reading! Until next time!

 

Leave a Reply

